You asked: What would have happened if India was not divided into states and union territories?

The illegal activities such as robbery, black money, corruption etc., will increase and cannot be controlled. We can rule that coutry which has no states and Union territories. The unity will increases in the people and the regionalism like nationalism will decreases in the country.

What would happen if India was not divided into states and union territory?

Now that you have understood the word government, without dividing the state, The country will difficult to govern, there will be illegal activities where there are not government representatives, there will be an increase in corruption and mismanage of country resources.

Do you think dividing India into a number of states and union territories is good idea why or why not?

Answer Expert Verified

So a country is divided into different units and sub units so that it can be run in a better way. India has been divided into states and union territories in order to maintain effective administration, maintain law and order, provide citizens their necessities and for overall development.

What is the reason for union territory?

The concept of Union Territory was first introduced in the States Reorganisation Act, 1956. It refers to those territories that are too small to be independent or are too different (economically, culturally and geographically) to be merged with the surrounding states or are financially weak or are politically unstable.

IMPORTANT:  Is State caste certificate valid all over India?

What is the basis of division of states and union territories?

States have their own elected government that are vested with the powers to frame the laws. An union territory is a small administrative unit that is ruled by the union. The union territories are administered and controlled directly by the Central Government of India.

Is Goa a union territory or a state?

On 30 May 1987 Goa was conferred statehood and Daman and Diu was made a separate union territory. Goa is situated on the western coast of the Indian Peninsula.

What is India’s 2020 Union territory?

Union Territories of India

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Lakshadweep.
  • Puducherry.
  • Delhi.
  • Ladakh.
  • Jammu and Kashmir.

Do union territories have CM?

The Parliament of India can pass a law to amend the constitution and provide a Legislature with elected Members and a Chief Minister for a union territory, as it has done for Delhi and Puducherry. In general, the President of India appoints an administrator or lieutenant governor for each UT.

Why Delhi is called union territory?

The States Reorganisation Act, 1956 created the Union Territory of Delhi from its predecessor, the Chief Commissioner’s Province of Delhi. The Constitution (Sixty-ninth Amendment) Act, 1991 declared the Union Territory of Delhi to be formally known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

Who is the head of union territory?

Lt. Governors & Administrators

Union Territory Lt. Governor & Administrator
Delhi (NCT) Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Jammu and Kashmir (UT) Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
Lakshadweep (UT) Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
Puducherry (UT) Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)
IMPORTANT:  Your question: Is Pune more expensive than Mumbai?
Magic India