Who was the first Indian woman won the Nobel Prize?

Mother Teresa was the first Indian woman to win Noble Peace Prize in 1979.

Who are the Nobel Prize winners from India?

Nobel Laureates of India

  • Rabindranath Tagore, Nobel Prize in Literature (1913)
  • C.V. Raman, Nobel Prize in Physics (1930)
  • Har Gobind Khorana, Nobel Prize in Medicine (1968)
  • Mother Teresa, Nobel Peace Prize (1979)
  • Subrahmanyam Chandrasekhar, Nobel Prize in Physics (1983)

Who is the first woman in India?

Lists Of First Women in India

S.No Field Name of the Person
1 First Indian Woman Doctor Anandi Gopal Joshi
2 First Woman President of INC Annie Besant
3 First Indian Woman President of INC Sarojini Naidu
4 First Indian Woman Airline Pilot Sarla Thakral

How many Indian got Nobel Prize till now?

From Rabindranath Tagore in 1913 to Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee in 2020, there are 10 Indian Nobel prize winners so far who have made the country feel proud.

Who got first Nobel prize in world?

First award

The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901. The Peace Prize for that year was shared between the Frenchman Frédéric Passy and the Swiss Jean Henry Dunant.

Has a woman ever won a Nobel Prize?

The first woman to win a Nobel Prize was Marie Curie, who won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1903 with her husband, Pierre Curie, and Henri Becquerel. Curie is also the only woman to have won multiple Nobel Prizes; in 1911, she won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.


IMPORTANT:  Is India better than Saudi Arabia?
Year 2003
Laureate Shirin Ebadi
Country Iran
Category Peace

Which country has the most Nobel Prize winners?

Here are the 10 countries with the most Nobel Prize winners:

  • United States (375)
  • United Kingdom (131)
  • Germany (108)
  • France (69)
  • Sweden (32)
  • Russia (31)
  • Japan (27)
  • Canada (26)

Who got Nobel Prize after death India?

The only posthumous Nobel Peace Prize was given in 1961 to the youngest United Nations Secretary-General, Dag Hammarskjöld. In 1996, economist William Vickrey died before the presentation ceremony while Ralph Steinman was given 2011 Medicine Nobel posthumously as the Committee wasn’t aware of his death.

Magic India