Why are there seven sisters in India?

Why these states called Seven Sisters of India. The Northeastern States are often known as the Seven Sister states because they are interdependent on one another. All these states are connected to India via Siliguri Corridor. Hence, that is the only way to reach the Seven Sister States.

Why are they called Seven Sisters of India?

All of the rivers that flood the plains in Assam originate in Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland. Mizoram and Manipur are connected to the rest of India through Barak Valley in Assam. And it is due to this interdependence, they were given the sobriquet.

Why is Sikkim not a part of Seven Sisters?

Why is the north-eastern region called the seven sisters and Sikkim their only brother? … But, sadly Sikkim is not part of the seven sisters a sit is separated by a chicken neck corridor or Siliguri corridor. A tiny strip of land in the northern region of Bengal joins the North East with the rest of India.

Which states of India are called Seven Sisters?

Offbeat: The Seven Sister States of India and their Brother

  • Arunachal Pradesh. Being the largest among the Seven Sister States, Arunachal Pradesh has 26 major tribes and 100 sub-tribes. …
  • Mizoram. Mizoram has been named after an old tribe inhabiting the region. …
  • Manipur. …
  • Meghalaya. …
  • Nagaland. …
  • Tripura. …
  • Assam. …
  • Sikkim.
IMPORTANT:  Your question: What was the purpose of the American Indian Religious Freedom Act passed in 1978?

How many Seven Sisters are there in India?

The Seven Sisters of India refers to the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura. They are home to some magnificent terrains, exotic flora and fauna, and diverse culture.

What is the capital of 7 sisters?

North East India comprises of seven states commonly known as the “Seven Sisters”. They are Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura.

Hemant Singh.

Area 21,081sq. km
Capital Aizawl
Attained Statehood Jan 21, 1972,
Population (2011 Census) 1,091014
Languages Mizo, Kuki, and English

Who is the brother of 7 sisters?

The Seven Sister states are the contiguousstates of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura in northeastern India. And so, neighbour Sikkim is called ” only brother of seven sisters states.

What is the name of Seven Sister?

The Seven Sister States is a popular term for the contiguous states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura prior to inclusion of the state of Sikkim into the North Eastern Region of India.

Which state is not a part of 7 sisters?

Most people generalise about the North-East states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura (Sikkim is not one of the Seven Sisters).

How do I plan a trip to Seven Sisters?


  1. Day 1. Arrival in Guwahati. Welcome at the airport and transfer to the hotel. …
  2. Day 2. Guwahati – Shillong. …
  3. Day 3. Shillong – Cherrapunjee. …
  4. Day 4. Cherrapunjee. …
  5. Day 5. Cherrapunjee – Kaziranga NP. …
  6. Day 6. Kaziranga NP. …
  7. Day 7. Kaziranga NP – Jorhat. …
  8. Day 8. Jorhat – Majuli.
IMPORTANT:  When was India the largest economy?

Why northeast India is different?

3. Multi-lingual region. Nowhere in the world has a geographical area equivalent to the Northeast India which consists of such a varied group of people. The region has highest density of different tribes and several sub-tribes residing in an area, making the region vibrant with colourful people.

Is Manipur a part of India?

Manipur, state of India, located in the northeastern part of the country. It is bordered by the Indian states of Nagaland to the north, Assam to the west, and Mizoram to the southwest and by Myanmar (Burma) to the south and east.

Magic India