What are the divisions in the ancient Indian culture?

Basically the culture and tradition of a country depends on its historical background. Ancient Vedic culture still continues in some aspects in India because the Indians are the successor of the Vedic inhabitants. The culture was divided in two distinct groups; Dravidians and Aryans.

What are the divisions of Indian history?

Chronologically, Indian History can be classified into three periods – Ancient India, Medieval India and Modern India.

  • Ancient India (Pre-historic to AD 700)
  • Medieval India (AD 700 – AD 1857)
  • Modern India (AD 1857 +)

How did ancient India divide its society?


There were four main groups, called varnas. The Brahmins (BRAH-muhns) were priests and were the highest ranking varna. The Kshatriyas (KSHA-tree-uhs) were rulers or warriors. The Vaisyas (VYSH-yuhs) were commoners, including farmers, craftspeople, and traders.

What are the unique features of ancient India?

Ancient Indians had a well-developed concept of water harvesting. Grand Anicut, which is also known as ‘Kallanai dam’, is the fourth oldest in the world. It is also one of the oldest dams in working condition. An artificial lake called ‘Sudarshana’ was built by the Mauryas during 320 B.C.

IMPORTANT:  Which place in India is situated on these seas?

Who is first king of India?

Ans: Chandragupta Maurya was the first king/ruler of Ancient India.

Who Ruled India first?

The Maurya Empire (320-185 B.C.E.) was the first major historical Indian empire, and definitely the largest one created by an Indian dynasty. The empire arose as a consequence of state consolidation in northern India, which led to one state, Magadha, in today’s Bihar, dominating the Ganges plain.

Which caste is top in Hindu?

At the top of the hierarchy were the Brahmins who were mainly teachers and intellectuals and are believed to have come from Brahma’s head. Then came the Kshatriyas, or the warriors and rulers, supposedly from his arms. The third slot went to the Vaishyas, or the traders, who were created from his thighs.

What are the 5 castes?

Indian society was divided into five castes:

  • Brahmins: the priestly caste. After their religious role decreased they became the caste of officialdom.
  • Kshatriya: warrior caste. …
  • Vaisya: the commoner caste. …
  • Sudras: represented the great bulk of the Indian population. …
  • Untouchables: descendants of slaves or prisoners.

Which caste is powerful in India?


Next to Brahmans are the Kshatriyas in varna ranking. They comprise very powerful castes as they are traditionally warriors and play a major role in defence.

What are 3 interesting facts about ancient India?

Here are 8 fun facts about Ancient India.

  • They established the first universities. …
  • They were all about the numbers. …
  • They played Chess and Snakes & Ladders. …
  • They used shampoo. …
  • They had an advanced toilet system. …
  • They understood the solar system. …
  • They mined the first diamonds. …
  • They practiced Yoga.
IMPORTANT:  Is Mirchi native to India?

What are three interesting facts about ancient India?

Historical facts about India

  • India never invaded any country in her last 10000 years of history.
  • India invented the Number System. …
  • The World’s first university was established in Takshila in 700BC. …
  • Sanskrit is the mother of all the European languages. …
  • Ayurveda is the earliest school of medicine known to humans.

What is ancient India famous for?

Ancient India was home to two of the world’s first cities, Harappa and Mohenjo-Daro. These cities had stone buildings, multiply stories, and sewage systems! India was one of the very first civilizations to use algebra and calculus. The number zero was invented in Ancient India by a man named Aryabhatta.

Magic India