How many states have no union territories in India?

States and union territories of India
Category Federated states
Location Republic of India
Number 28 States 8 Union territories
Populations States: Sikkim – 610,577 (lowest); Uttar Pradesh – 199,812,341(highest) Union Territories: Lakshadweep – 64,473 (lowest); Delhi – 16,787,941 (highest)

Which state is not a union territory?

Since they enjoy a partial statehood like status and they have their own legislative assemblies, union territories like Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir do not operate in the same way as the other four union territories in India do.

Was Sikkim a union territory?

It became a princely state of British India in 1890. Following Indian independence, Sikkim continued its protectorate status with the Union of India after 1947, and the Republic of India after 1950.

Admission to Union 16 May 1975
Capital Gangtok
Largest city Gangtok
Districts 4

Why union territories are not merged with states?

2- Many of the Union Territories have a different culture than their surrounding States as they were earlier under the rule of Portuguese (Daman and Diu) and French (Puducherry). Hence, these UTs cannot be merged with the surrounding states.

Which city is not a capital of an Indian union territory?

Chandigarh (The city is not only the capital of two Indian States, Punjab and Haryana, it is also a Union Territory under the direct administration of the Government of India.)

IMPORTANT:  Quick Answer: What is a Hindu community called?

What are the 9 union territory?

Union Territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Ladakh and Puducherry.

Why is Sikkim so rich?

Sikkim is India’s third-richest state (after Delhi and Chandigarh), by per capita income. Its literacy rate is India’s seventh highest. In 2008, it was declared India’s first open defecation-free state. … That’s not just more than triple the Indian average of 10.6 but way above the global average of 11.4.

Which is the 29th state in India?

Telangana was created on 2 June 2014 as ten former districts of north-western Andhra Pradesh.

Who is the head of union territory?

Lt. Governors & Administrators

Union Territory Lt. Governor & Administrator
Delhi (NCT) Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Jammu and Kashmir (UT) Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
Lakshadweep (UT) Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
Puducherry (UT) Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)

What are the 9 union territories of India and their capitals?

Table List of 9 Union Territories with their capitals, formation date and their population:

S.No. Union territories Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
4 Daman and Diu Daman
Magic India