Frequent question: Who is the first Indian finance minister?

Post Independence, the first budget of Union of India was presented on 26th November, 1947 by India’s first Finance Minister Sri R.K. Shanmugham Chetty.

Who is the first finance minister of India before independence?

Independent India’s first Budget was presented by the country’s first finance minister, RK Shanmukham Chetty, on November 26, 1947.

Who was finance minister in 1947?

FM since Independence

S.No Year Finance Minister (Shri / Smt)
30 1957-58 T.T. Krishnamachari
31 1951-57 Dr. C.D. Deshmukh
32 1950-51 Dr. John Mathai
33 1947-49 R.K. Shanmukham Chetty

Who is current finance minister of India?

The current Finance Minister of India is Nirmala Sitharaman.

Lists of Finance Ministers.

Name Nirmala Sitharaman
Term of office 30 May 2019
Political party (Alliance) Bharatiya Janata Party
Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Who is the first woman prime minister of India?

Indira Gandhi. listen); née Nehru; 19 November 1917 – 31 October 1984) was an Indian politician and a central figure of the Indian National Congress. She was the 3rd Prime Minister of India and was also the first and, to date, only female Prime Minister of India.

Who is current education minister?

The current education minister is Dharmendra Pradhan, a member of the Council of Ministers.

Ministry of Education (India)

IMPORTANT:  You asked: Is solar energy business profitable in India?
Ministry overview
Jurisdiction Republic of India
Headquarters Shastri Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi
Annual budget ₹93,224 crore (US$13 billion) (2021–22)
Minister responsible Dharmedra Pradhan, Cabinet Minister

Who was GOVT India in 1990?

National Front (NF) was a coalition of political parties, led by the Janata Dal, which formed India’s government between 1989 and 1990 under the leadership of N. T. Rama Rao, popularly known as NTR, as President of national front and V. P. Singh as Convener.

Who presented first budget in India?

Wilson presented his budget on February 18, 1860. He introduced three kinds of taxes- income tax, license tax and tobacco duty. However, only the first one went through, as the other two were dropped on the demand of the governor-general of India, Charles Canning.

Who is the railway chief minister of India?

Minister of Railways (India)

भारत के रेल मंत्री Minister Of Railway India
Incumbent Ashwini Vaishnaw since 7 July 2021
Ministry of Railways
Member of Cabinet of India
Appointer President on the advice of the Prime Minister

Who is the present Home Secretary of India?

The current Home Secretary is Ajay Kumar Bhalla. As a Secretary to Government of India, the Home Secretary ranks 23rd on Indian Order of Precedence.

Magic India